odp
121 to 144 of 297 locations
-
TOP Het Gagelgat
TOP Het Gagelgat Birkstraat 107
3768 HD Soest -
Large Pump/Vianen Town Pump
Large Pump/Vianen Town Pump Stadspomp Vianen
Voorstraat 54
4132 AS Vianen -
City castle Oudaen
City castle Oudaen
A monumental building from 1276 with its own brewery and a number of conference rooms, among other things.
In or around the year 1276, the Zoudenbalch family commissioned the construction of this so-called city castle. The building was entirely made of bricks, turning it into some kind of defence house. In 1395, the building got into the hands of the Oudaen family who named it after themselves. From 1758 until 1965 it was used as an old folks' home. After that, it was briefly in the possession of a student association. Since 1986, Oudaen is being used as a catering establishment.
Oudegracht 99
3511 AE Utrecht -
Bicycle Boat, stop NIeuwersluis
Bicycle Boat, stop NIeuwersluis Fietsboot over de Vecht, opstapplaats Geesberge
zandpad 23
3601NA Maarssen -
Wilhelmina city park
Wilhelmina city park Wilhelminapark
3581 NP Utrecht -
TOP ‘t Jagershuys
TOP ‘t Jagershuys Jagersingel 15
3707 HW Zeist -
Cheese Warehouse | Cheese Experience
Cheese Warehouse | Cheese Experience VVV Woerden
Emmakade 6A
3441 AJ Woerden -
Fort Waver-Amstel
Fort Waver-Amstel Waverdijk 19
3646 AS Nessersluis -
Pausdam
Pausdam Pausdam 3
3512 HN Utrecht -
National Military Museum
National Military Museum Verlengde Paltzerweg 1
3768 MX Soest -
Nederlands Zilvermuseum
Nederlands Zilvermuseum Kazerneplein 4
2871 CZ Schoonhoven -
Stayokay Utrecht Centrum
Stayokay Utrecht Centrum Neude 5
3512 AD Utrecht -
Groene Entree Kaapse Bossen
Groene Entree Kaapse Bossen Leersumsestraatweg 0
3941 MN DOORN -
De Hooge Vuursche Castle
De Hooge Vuursche Castle Hilversumsestraatweg 14
3744 KC Baarn -
Fort Abcoude
Fort Abcoude Molenweg 19
1391 CG Abcoude -
Werk aan het Spoel
Werk aan het Spoel
In 1815, a fan lock was built into the Lekdijk near Goilberdingen for inundation purposes. It was protected by an earthen battery. In 1848, the battery was upgraded to a fort. Later on, the inundation system was optimised, and four bomb-proof buildings were added to the fort. In peacetime, the road on top of the dyke ran right through the fort, but traffic was led around the fort in times of mobilisation. In 1939, seven concrete shelters and two machine gun casemates were added. An unusual feature is the high free-standing wall in a field to the south of the fort. This was the stop butt of a German firing range.
Goilberdingerdijk 40
4106 LC Culemborg -
Volmolen
Volmolen De Volmolen
Plantsoen Noord 2
3811 GH Amersfoort -
Fort Everdingen
Fort Everdingen
Anyone who delves into the history of the Vijfheerenlanden will soon discover that the now very quiet and peaceful area has a history filled with clashing weapons. Destroyed towns and castles, plundering and domestic (and foreign) wars: every town and village has its own story to tell. Everdingen was put on the Dutch military map in the 19th Century as part of the New Dutch Water Line.
The New Dutch Water Line ran from the former Zuiderzee near Muiden to the Biesbosch near Werkendam and consisted of a variety of defences and inundation fields (areas that could be placed underwater). Fort Everdingen was built between 1842 and 1847 and, together with Fort Honswijk, formed the Lek access on the other side of the Lek. The surrounding land could be flooded using inundation locks. The fort itself was walled and well defended by a variety of casemates. The new Dutch Water Line was prepared 3 times. At the end of World War II, German forces used the line as a defence against the advancing Allies. Fort Everdingen lost its defensive function after the war. The military Explosive Ordinance Disposal service used the fort until 2014. It’s now home to the German & Lauret brewery, which uses the special water filtering system in their brewery. It’s also an over-wintering place for many bats.
Further reading: Batestein Castle, Hagestein Castle, Vianen Castle, Brederode statue, Everdingen village centre, Vianen water tower. Noodweg 2
4121 KK Everdingen -
Brouwerij Maximus
Brouwerij Maximus Pratumplaats 2A
3454 NA Utrecht -
Canals and shipyards
Canals and shipyards
The Utrecht canals with their wharves and wharf cellars are unique in the world.
The 12th Century Oudegracht was built to change the course of the Oude Rijn river. Connecting the river Vecht in the north to the Vaartsche Rijn in the south, the Oudegracht was destined to become an elongated harbour. Large city castles were built along the canal and in the 13th Century, shipyards were built as second streets at water level. The deep cellars, serving as storage spaces, ran through to below the houses. Today, the canals and shipyards are home to shops, restaurants and private residences.
Oudegracht 0
3511 AZ Utrecht -
The Great Church of Wijk bij Duurstede
The Great Church of Wijk bij Duurstede Markt 26
3961 BC Wijk bij Duurstede -
Goejanverwelle lock
Goejanverwelle lock
The Goejanverwelle lock and the Enkele Wiericke lock on the Hollandse Ijssel played a key role in the Disaster Year. Together with the lock at Nieuwerbrug on the Oude Rijn, they formed the inlet to the Langeweide polder, which was the narrowest section of the Waterline. The locks were opened on 17 June 1672 – just in time to halt the advance of the French, who had already captured Oudewater and marched right up to the edge of the hastily flooded Waterline. With great promptitude, the commander of the garrison at Goejanverwelle, the Count of Horn, gave the order to raise sconces and fortifications to defend the locks. For the moment, the Waterline was safe!
Goejanverwellesluis
3467 PR Hekendorp -
Grebbe line
Grebbe line Onderweg 1
3927 EJ Renswoude -
Soesterberg Park Air Base
Soesterberg Park Air Base Verlengde Paltzerweg 1
3768 MX Soest