Citywalk Wijk bij Duurstede
The village of Wijk obtained municipal rights in the year 1300, by Gijsbert van Abcoude. About fifty years later the city wall was built and the town called itself Wijk bij Duurstede. In popular speech though, its name is still called “Wijk”.
The village of Wijk is first mentioned in the year 948. It was referred to as former Dorestad: a very large trading place in the early middle ages, situated on the banks of the rivers Rijn, Kromme Rijn and Lek.
Sights on this route
3961BC Wijk bij Duurstede
’t Klooster Restaurant is located in a sixteenth-century building in one of the oldest courtyards in the Netherlands, the Nederhof. On the foundation of Wijk bij Duurstede, the buildings around the...
TOP City harbour Wijk bij Duurstede
Molen Rijn en Lek
De Blauwe Bever is a really cool ship with an open main deck that allows you to experience the nature of the Nederrijn River up close.
The Great Church of Wijk bij Duurstede
The church is dedicated to John the Baptist. Construction of a smaller church began in the early 14th Century. Bishop David of Burgundy (1456-1496) extended the church into a three-aisle cross church....